Skip to the content




Date ArticleType
5/21/2018 General

Twenty of State’s 204 Rewards Received by Schools in Pulaski County

LITTLE ROCK, AR (May 21, 2018) – Pulaski County public schools, both traditional and charter, accounted for 20 of Arkansas’s 204 Reward Schools, totaling $714,752.64 of the state’s $7 Million total. Today, those schools were recognized at the Little Rock Regional Chamber and presented with ceremonial checks to honor and commemorate their outstanding accomplishments.

Members of the State Legislature, along with the North Little Rock, Sherwood, and Maumelle Chambers of Commerce participated in the check presentations to their respective reward winning schools.

Little Rock Regional Chamber Board Chair Cathy Tuggle said, “We are excited to partner with our sister Chambers in Pulaski County to recognize these high performing schools. We know that industry doesn’t consider geographic boundaries when hiring, so all schools across the county are critical to our region’s future talent. Presenting 20 Reward School checks is a great acknowledgement of schools that are leading the way in providing that next generation of talent. We at the Chamber are committed to continuing our work to improve all our schools and ensure a strong economic future for Little Rock.”

Additionally, 16 schools in the county were among the 163 Arkansas schools receiving an ‘A’ on the State Report Cards, based on performance, growth, student success, school quality, and in the case of high schools, graduation rates.
According to the Arkansas Department of Education, “the Arkansas School Recognition Program, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-2107, was created to provide financial awards to public schools that achieve high student performance, student academic growth, and for secondary schools, high school graduation rate.”

The statute authorizes rewards in an amount up to $100 per student for Top 5% and up to $50 per student for the Top 6-10%. Local education advocacy group Arkansas Learns championed the Reward School funding in the 89th, 90th and 91st General Assemblies and provided the ceremonial checks presented to the schools along with ‘A’ grade displays.

“We are appreciative that the State provides recognition for outstanding performance,” added LRSD Superintendent Mike Poore. “Thanks to the efforts of students, staff and parents of the five LRSD schools being recognized, the District received over $300,000 in reward money. We congratulate these schools for their commitment to excellence.”

Schools receiving recognition funds must establish a committee to determine the best use of the funds. The committee includes the principal, a teacher elected by the faculty, and a parent representative selected by the local parent teacher organization or another parental involvement group. Schools may use the funds for faculty and staff bonuses, educational equipment and materials, or personnel to assist with improving or maintaining student performance and growth.

“After having received National Blue Ribbon status, it is also gratifying to now be recognized by the State for both performance and growth,” said Don Roberts Principal Barbara Anderson.

A complete list of Reward Schools may be found at:

Letter grades and scores for each school in Arkansas may be found at:

For more detailed information on the performance of Arkansas’s public schools, visit:

About the Little Rock Regional Chamber (
The Little Rock Regional Chamber is the principal business-driven leadership organization responsible for fostering the economic growth and development of the Little Rock region to ensure that business and industry may operate profitably and enhance the earning opportunities and quality of life for every citizen.

Reward Schools in Pulaski County
Top 5% Performance
Baker Elementary (PCSSD): $33,324.48
Chenal Elementary (PCSSD): $49,603.68
Don Roberts Elementary (LRSD): $85,130.64
Forest Park Elementary (LRSD): $40,506.48

Top 6 – 10% Performance
Academics Plus Maumelle Charter Elementary: $27,004.32
Crestwood Elementary (NLRSD): $21,833.28
eStem Public Charter Elementary: $24,035.76
Forest Heights STEM Academy (LRSD): $32,558.40
Jefferson Elementary (LRSD): $17,093.16

Top 5% Growth/Graduation
Baker Interdistrict Elementary (PCSSD): $33,324.48
Crestwood Elementary (NLRSD): $43,666.56
Don Roberts Elementary (LRSD): $85,130.64
eStem Public Charter High: $46,252.08
LISA Academy High: $34,856.64
LISA Academy North High: $11,970.00

Top 6 – 10% Growth/Graduation
Cato Elementary (PCSSD): $14,172.48
Chenal Elementary (PCSSD): $24,801.84
eStem Elementary: $24,035.76
LISA Academy North Middle: $11,299.68
Parkview Magnet High (LRSD): $54,152.28

‘A’ Schools in Pulaski County
Academics Plus Maumelle Charter Elementary
Academics Plus Maumelle Charter High
Baker Elementary (PCSSD)
Chenal Elementary (PCSSD)
Crestwood Elementary (NLRSD)
Don Roberts Elementary (LRSD)
eStem Public Charter Elementary
eStem Public Charter Middle
eStem Public Charter High
Forest Heights STEM Academy (LRSD)
Forest Park Elementary (LRSD)
Jefferson Elementary (LRSD)
LISA Academy
LISA Academy North Middle
LISA Academy North High
Williams Magnet Elementary (LRSD)

View School Reward Photos >